January thaw? Oh yes

The past two days of rain, fog and warmer temps have led to ice all over.  I, smartly, don’t go out when there is ice on the ground.  Why?  Well because I am a klutz and no matter how pretty some things are I really don’t need yet another cast in my future.

But the warmth brings to mind that fact that spring is about 60+ days away.  The true wolf days of winter will be back next week with cold and snow returning to the great white north.  Those who dealt with the polar vortex last week had a taste of what I have known most of my life.  Living in New Hampshire for 40 odd years before moving to Canada means I really do understand our Lady Winter and her changing moods.

Winter can be quite lovely we all know.  As this photo shows

102_3642  But I will soon be longing for the soft days of spring, where the birds start singing and the flowers push their way up through the ground.

100_1617 100_1622 100_1656

Leave a Reply

