The importance of using the right batteries with your digital camera

Now as a photographer who still uses an actual CAMERA and not a tablet or phone, the batteries in that camera are important. Many of you have read my comments about having my batteries fail when I am out on a walkabout.

Now with my old Kodak EasyShare Z915 I had to use rechargeable batteries. It would not even turn on with your basic, regular double A batteries. I had to make sure to charge them up before going out and take a spare set with me just in case. I would get a ton of images on one set of batteries, if they were fully charged. Sometimes I would come home with up to a hundred images to sorta through or more.

When the battery compartment door finally stopped staying shut of course I moved onto my hubby’s Olympus X-21. A very different camera with different battery requirements. It does not take rechargeables as far as i have seen. Just ordinary AA batteries…or so I thought. The hubby told me and told me that the cheap batteries from the dollar store would be of no use…and guess what, as usual he was right. Okay not about everything but when it comes to electronics my hubby is a genius compared to me.

Today I was out taking photos…like always, but I made sure to take a pocket full of the batteries i had with me. I had never heard of the Dorcy Brand battery. They were supposed to be heavy duty but lets just say I went through four sets and only got about twenty pictures. That is a major disappointment for me. It is not the camera, because as you can see, I have taken some very fine photos with my hubby’s camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So folks if you are still using a camera, make sure you read the manual and the section on batteries. They can make or break your joy during one of your photo jaunts.

Leave a Reply

